Values – Loyalty

What loyalty comes down to for me is this:
once you develop a friendship with someone,
you really have no right to leave,
unless that person is abusive,
or you two just naturally grow apart.
There is no cutting people out.
There is no ignoring who was once your friend,
and hoping that they’ll just figure it out and go away.
Their imperfections are not a valid reason,
regardless of how those imperfections affect you.
You’re an adult.
If someone else is affecting you so
much that you want to run away,
then you need to work on your own emotional intelligence.
See what I did there?
Figure it out.

I’m also really not into,
“I’m just going through stuff right now,
so I need some space.”
Again, you’re an adult.
Regardless of what you are going through,
people are counting on you.
You really have no right to check out.

Now, I recognize that I sound ballsy.
If I was still a wimpy little girl,
I would look at this blog post,
say, “Nah,” and delete it.
But I’m not a wimpy little girl anymore.
I’m a strong ass woman who has opinions.
Those opinions will stand,
whether you agree with them or not.
Those opinions will stand,
whether you feel comfortable with them or not.
Those opinions will stand,
even if they call you out on something.
Especially if they call you out on something.

We’re all grown-ups here.

Leave a Reply

